Welcome to BIT115 and the world of java!

This is the "official" website for the Fall 2017 BIT115 Section 1 and Section 3 classes. Everything you need to complete this course can be found here, including the textbook, apps, docs, sample files, PowerPoint slides, instructional videos, and more. All assignments and grading will be done through StudentTracker (see sidebar on right -->)

TEXTBOOK (AVAILABLE FREE IN PDF FORMAT)

Getting SET UP (APPS/SOFTWARE NEEDED)

  1. INSTALL FIRST : Java Platform (JDK) 9 (or later build if version # changes)
  2. INSTALL SECOND : jGrasp Compiler
  3. DOWNLOAD AND SAVE THIRD : becker.jar (right-click, save as. Don't try to open!)
  4. RECOMMENDED : 7Zip (for zipping and unzipping files)
  • DIRECTIONS: How to Setup the Software on your PC (PDF)
  • VIDEO: How to Setup the Software on your PC (MP4, 76MB)
    [srt file for captioning; video with captions embedded MP4, 295 MB]
    This video was made a few years ago, so it uses earlier version numbers of Java and jGRASP. When watching it, just substitute the current version numbers in your mind's eye. Everything else will be the same. If the video portion of the video doesn't stream (you hear the audio, but don't see the video) it is recommended that you save the file locally by right-clicking on the link and selecting "Save link as..." (Firefox, Chrome) or "Save target as..." (Internet Explorer) and pointing the download to your desktop, USB thumb drive, or other location of your choice. To view the file once it is download, I recommend installing and using the VLC Media Player.
  • TROUBLESHOOTING: jGRASP wedge2 error: command "javac" not found ERROR
  • DIRECTIONS: How to Setup Your BIT115 Work Folders (PDF)

  • A QUICK NOTE ABOUT PCs and LAPTOPS: The classroom where BIT115 is taught is a computer-lab and has PCs available for all students enrolled in the class. Each of these classroom PCs also has all the pertinent software already installed, so no need to worry about doing that in class. You will also need to work on code "outside" the classroom, in which case either a personal PC (desktop or laptop) or Apple computer (desktop or Macbook) will do nicely.

    If you are interested in purchasing a PC or laptop for you own use, it is recommended that it have at least an Intel Core i3 or AMD Phenom II processor, 4 GB RAM, and 128GB of storage, although having more of any of these is always better. Fortunately, Java and Java apps are pretty small, and Java files are very small, so you won't need a lot of storage capacity, either on a hard drive or USB thumb drive (for saving/transporting files to and from class). If you have your own laptop, you are encouraged to bring that to class and you can work directly on that to do your in-classes exercises and assignments. Dell has refurbished laptops available starting around $250. You might also look at HP, Best Buy, or Newegg.

Libraries & Specifications

TEMPLATES USED IN CLASS

Lectures (SLIDES, DEMOS, ICES)


Completed Lecture 01 Orientation and Course Introduction, First Look at Java Code
Lecture 01 Section 1: Wednesday, September 27
Section 3: Thursday, September 28
Completed Lecture 02 Java Code, Finding & Fixing Errors, Setting Up a City, Tracing a Program
Lecture 02 Section 1: Monday, October 2
Section 3: Tuesday, October 3
Completed Lecture 03 Extending a Class, Constructor, New Methods, MrRoboto
Lecture 03 Section 1: Wednesday, October 4
Section 3: Thursday, October 5

Completed Lecture 04 If, While, and If-Else Statements (Boolean Logic Decision-Making)
Lecture 04 Section 1: Monday, October 9
Section 3: Tuesday, October 10

Completed Lecture 05 While Loops (Boolean Logic), Robot Relay Race
Lecture 05 Section 1: Wednesday, October 11
Section 3: Thursday, October 12
ASSIGNMENT 1 DUE IN STUDENT TRACKER BY MIDNIGHT TONIGHT FYI
Completed Lecture 06 Final Keyword (Constant), Counters and Counting Loops, Scope
Lecture 06 Section 1: Monday, October 16
Section 3: Tuesday, October 17

Completed Lecture 07 Output (System.out), Robot Relay Race of the Century
Lecture 07 Section 1: Wednesday, October 18
Section 3: Thursday, October 19

Completed Lecture 08 BUFFER DAY / ASSIGNMENT 2 WORK DAY
Lecture 08 Section 1: Monday, October 23
Section 3: Tuesday, October 24

Completed Lecture 09 Input (System.in), Basic Keyboard I/O (Input/Output)
Lecture 09 Section 1: Wednesday, October 25
Section 3: Thursday, October 26

ASSIGNMENT 2 DUE IN STUDENT TRACKER BY MIDNIGHT FYI
Completed Lecture 10 MID-TERM EXAM (Pencil and Paper)
Lecture 10 Section 1: Monday, October 30
Section 3: Tuesday, October 31
  • MID-TERM EXAM
  • Lecture 10 (PDF)
    150 Points | Worth 15% of Final Grade
  • 150 Total Points
    • 6 - True/False Questions (6 x 5 points = 30 points)
    • 8 - Multiple Choice Questions (8 x 5 points = 40 points)
    • 2 - Traces ( 2 x 20 points = 40 points)
    • 1 - Writing Code Section ( 1 x 20 points = 20 points)
    • 1 - Finding Errors Section (1 x 20 points = 20 points)
Completed Lecture 11 Parameters, Arguments, Method Overloading
Lecture 11 Section 1: Monday, November 6
Section 3: Thursday, November 2

ASSIGNMENT 1 REVISION DUE IN STUDENT TRACKER BY MIDNIGHT TONIGHT FYI
Completed Lecture 12 Instance Variables (Class/Global Variables)
Lecture 12 Section 1: Wednesday, November 8
Section 3: Tuesday, November 7

Completed Lecture 13 Overriding Inherited Methods, Programming with Multiple Files
Lecture 13 Section 1: Monday, November 13
Section 3: Thursday, November 9

ASSIGNMENT 2 REVISION DUE IN STUDENT TRACKER BY MIDNIGHT FYI
Completed Lecture 14 BUFFER DAY / ASSIGNMENT 3 WORK DAY
Lecture 14 Section 1: Wednesday, November 15
Section 3: Tuesday, November 14

  • Slides Classroom Slides
  • BUFFER DAY / STUDY DAY / ASSIGNMENT 3 WORK DAY
    • NO LECTURE - NO ICEs
Completed Lecture 15 Boolean Expressions, Return Values, Logical Operators (AND / OR)
Lecture 15 Section 1: Monday, November 20
Section 3: Thursday, November 16

ASSIGNMENT 3 DUE IN STUDENT TRACKER BY MIDNIGHT FYI
Completed Lecture 16 Nested Statements, For Loops, Printing Rows and Boxes of Stars
Lecture 16 Section 1: Wednesday, November 22
Section 3: Tuesday, November 21

Completed Lecture 17 Do-While Loops, If/Else If/Else, Switch Statements, Introduction to Arrays
Completed Lecture 18 Arrays
Lecture 18 Section 1: Wednesday, November 29
Section 3: Thursday, November 30

ASSIGNMENT 3 REVISION DUE IN STUDENT TRACKER BY MIDNIGHT FYI
Completed Lecture 19 Arrays Continued, Arrays as Parameters
Lecture 19 Section 1: Monday, December 4
Section 3: Tuesday, December 5
Completed Lecture 20 Arrays as Return Values, String Class and String Arrays, Extra Credit
Lecture 20 Section 1: Wednesday, December 6
Section 3: Thursday, December 7

Completed Lecture 21 BUFFER DAY / ASSIGNMENT 4 WORK DAY / ASSIGNMENT 4 DUE
Lecture 21 Section 1: Monday, December 11
Section 3: Tuesday, December 12

ASSIGNMENT 4 DUE IN STUDENT TRACKER TONIGHT (NO REVISION AVAILABLE)


  • Slides Classroom Slides BUFFER DAY / STUDY DAY / ASSIGNMENT 4 WORK DAY
    • NO LECTURE - NO ICEs
Completed Lecture 22 FINAL EXAM
Lecture 22 Section 1: Wednesday, December 13
Section 3: Thursday, December 14
EXTRA CREDIT DUE IN STUDENT TRACKER BY MIDNIGHT FYI

FINAL EXAM
150 Points | Worth 15% of Final Grade

  • 150 Total Points
    • 6 - True/False Questions (6 x 5 points = 30 points)
    • 8 - Multiple Choice Questions (8 x 5 points = 40 points)
    • 6 - Find the Errors Questions(6 x 5 points = 30 points)
    • 2 - Long Answer Questions ( 2 x 25 points = 50 points)
      Four questions are offered, and Student picks two to answer