Lecture Schedule Reading Assignments
Lecture 1: Monday, March 27
Introduction, What's Going on?, Thinking Philosophically and Thinking like a Programmer, Classes and Objects,
Intro to Java,
jGrasp, Becker & Robots

Ch. 1: Read All
Skim 1.1
Study 1.2-1.4
Study 1.5
<Skip 1.6>
Study 1.7
 
Lecture 2: Wednesday, March 29
Review of Lecture 1, Types of Errors, Building a City, Constructors, Tracing Code
Ch. 1.5
Ch. 1.4.5
 
Lecture 3: Monday, April 3
More on Classes, Style
Lay of the Land F.1
Ch 2.1, 2.2
Ch 2.4
 
Lecture 4: Wednesday, April 5
Decision Making
Decision Logic

Lay of the Land F.3
Ch 4.1, 4.2
Ch 4.4
 
Lecture 5: Monday, April 10
Repeat Statement,
While Loops,
Memory Space
Lay of the Land F.2
Ch 5.1
App F.4
Ch. 5.2
DUE: Assignment 1
Lecture 6: Wednesday, April 12
Memory CONTINUED
Counting with Loops
Ch 5.8.3  
Lecture 7: Monday, April 17
Printing Expressions (System.out)
Ch 6.6.1  
Lecture 8: Wednesday, April 19
User Input (System.in)
Review for Mid-Term Exam
Ch 9.4
Ch 9.5
DUE: Assignment 2
Lecture 9: Monday, April 24
Mid-Term Exam
MID-TERM EXAM MID-TERM EXAM
Lecture 10: Wednesday, April 26
Arguments
Parameters
Variable Types

Lay of the Land F.5
Ch 4.6
Ch 6.2.2

DUE: Assignment 1 Revision
Lecture 11: Monday, May 1
Instance Variables
Lay of the Land F.7
Ch 6.1, 6.2, 6.3
 
Lecture 12: Wednesday, May 3
Overriding Methods, Multiple Files
Ch 6.2
Ch 4.4
DUE: Assignment 2 Revision
Lecture 13: Monday, May 8
Non-Robot Programming
Boolean Expressions, Logical Operators
Ch 5.4 DUE: Assignment 3
Lecture 14: Wednesday, May 10
Nested Statements, For Loops
Ch 5.3
Ch 5.5.1
 
Lecture 15: Monday, May 15
Do-While Loops, Switch Statements
Introduction to Arrays

Ch 5.5.2
Ch 5.3.3

 
Lecture 16: Wednesday, May 17
Introduction to Arrays CONTINUED

Ch 10.1through 10.1.7
Ch 10.2
Ch 10.5

DUE: Assignment 3 Revision
Lecture 17: Monday, May 22
Array Parameters
Ch 10.3
Ch 4.5
 
Lecture 18: Wednesday, May 24
Array Returns
Strings, String Arrays (Extra Credit)

Chapter 8.2  
Lecture 19: Wednesday, May 31
Buffer/Study/Assignment Work Day
Buffer/Study/Assignment Work Day DUE: Assignment 4
Lecture 20: Monday, June 5
Final Exam
FINAL EXAM

FINAL EXAM
DUE: Assignment 4 Revision
DUE: Extra Credit 01

Lecture 21: Wednesday, June 7
Last Day of Class
Final Exam Returned
SUMMER BREAK ALMOST HERE
 

The number of projects and the points possible for exams, projects and activities are subject to change depending on the circumstances of the class. I reserve the right to modify any and all aspects of the course, any time, without prior notice, including this syllabus.